Image by Sapphire X Designs (Generated on Artsmart)

Fire II (An Elemental Poem)

Mara Amberly

--

Continuing my theme of elemental poems, here is one I wrote for the element of fire. It’s actually the second fire elemental poem I’ve written. (The first one can be found here). You can also find other poems of mine with a fire theme — ‘Firebird’ and ‘Flames’ (both of which can be found here). As for this poem:

Fire II

Sands of the desert, searing hot.
A twisting firestorm. A candle flame
or the core of a star.

Flames duck and dive,
intensely joyous but destructive.
All they touch, they burn.

Elemental flickers dance in glory,
spiritedly jumping from leaf to tree,
explosions of heat, their essence glows.

Light, soft and gentle or
irrepressible and fierce. A dreadful enemy or
a warm sanctuary? Smoke, mirrors and light.

Friend or foe? Variable ferocity.
A dance of light or smoldering in the
recesses of shadow? An element untamed.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed my poem. :) I plan to be back with another one tomorrow.

If you enjoyed my poem, you could always sign up for a Medium Membership for $5/month. It would help support me and other Medium authors.

--

--

Mara Amberly

Science Fiction & Fantasy Author :: Poetess :: Roleplaying Game Writer :: http://www.maraamberly.com/